SETTING DEPTH AND SANDING FCS FUSION

HEY,

I have been using FCS Fusion for a few years now and I am pretty happy with the ease of installation and Ive nverer had any blowouts.

I do have a question for those that might use them, or know of them…

When I go to sand the plugs down (after hotcoating) in beginning to sand the board, I am finding that I am exposing some of the cloth adjacent to the raised plug slots themselves. Those that know the Fusion plugs will know that they have a coloured rim around the plug slot, which is designed to be removed during the sanding process. So what Im finding is that I am sanding down to remove the coloured rim, while during this process I am starting to espose the weave of the my cloth immediately adjacent to the raised plug slots and the plugs themselves.

I am wondering if anyone has any suggestions of setting the depth of the box better so as I can remove the coloured rim, without exposing the weave. 

For the record my instal process is:

• rout plug holes , set and cure plugs in

• lay up 4 ounce cloth patches and have them cure before I laminate the bottom of the board.

To me it sounds like I am setting the plugs too low. Has anyone got any hints/tips on setting my router to a more apprpriate depth?

Helllllllllp!!!

Cheers Marty

trying to avoid the same issue my process is:

-Route holes and set boxes

-Laminate

-Sand slots flush with the lamination

-Cap boxes with tape and hotcoat

-Final sanding

maybe a little more labor but cleaner results that way

Another trick would be to make relief cuts around the slots as the lamination is tacky.

p.s I use epoxy

Cheers