Twinzer glitches

Hi guys,

I’ve been messing around with twinzer conversions for a few months now, making fin sets, etc. 

Ive used Jobson style placement, though my mains have more rake and base. 8.25, 1 3/8 separation, and up to 3/8 overlap with leads ( though I put them up as far as I can) on a 6’3.

Half of the time I feel like I’ve found the holy grail…so fast, so high and tight, go good backhand,and go in micr waves…BUT, when I really lay into a bottom turn they tend to feel locked up and just bleed off energy until I get back into trim. 

Are they all like this? I would love to get one tuned up, it would be a weapon.

any suggestions would be appreciated!

I’ve been high on my jobson since last spring. What do you mean locked up?

I’ve tried a lot of twinzers and his are definitely the ones. For me they hold in on bottom turns and cutbacks but are still responsive. Not tracky at all. Not twitchy either. Just fast and turn on a dime.

I’m looking to make some new fins for my twinzers too. Liked what you posted on the Fin thread. Currently working on one with bonzer canards.

Hi GS,

when I lean into a good bottom turn, instead of picking up speed and projecting down the line there is a definite feeling of stalling and drag. It feels like water is “jamming” between the mains and canards.

It never happens when I’m racing along, only when I weight up in a turn.

Totally the opposite of my twin fin, which just goes faster the harder I boot it.

it doesn’t happen so much with the bonzer types I posted a while back, but is a real problem with the more normal ones.

ps wish I had a Jobson!

Maybe the photos distort but boxes in that top pic look almost parallel with stringer - not enough toe in, and could explain resisting high speed turns

The toe on that board is 3/16 in 5". It’s plenty loose, but yeah just doesn’t behave when I jam it.