What is the best fin for noseriding?

I just picked up a 10’1" noserider. The nose is 19", mid 23-1/4", tail 15-1/2, 50/50 rails all the way, not much nose rocker with a concave, more rocker in the tail. I weigh 195, though I’ve been surfing for about 25 years, I’m just now learning to ride the nose. Which fin would be best to try out to maximize my tip time?

Check out a true ames, Velzy nose rider a 10" should do a good job, or a Yater spoon at 9.75". eather of this fins should work for your needs. Or the Lance Carson Longrake at 10 or 10.5 inches. That is the fin that I ride on most of the time.

Bagman has some good suggestions. Basically, what you’re looking for is a fin with a lot of tip area, which keeps the tail sunk into the wave. If your board turns a bit stiff, I’d think about a cutaway with a hefty tip area to help swing that thing around. If this is going to be strictly about perching on the nose, I’d go with the classic hatchet. They look badass, too.

Great tip from Retro. I made a board with those same dimensions and rails. I also weigh 195ish. The cutaway, mine’s a nine inch, works great. Enjoy the view.

Quote:

Great tip from Retro. I made a board with those same dimensions and rails. I also weigh 195ish. The cutaway, mine’s a nine inch, works great. Enjoy the view.

Yeah the hatchet looks cool. The theory makes sense but how about for those cutbacks? It seems to me that it would be best to have a deep fin (10" to 10-1/2") with a narrow base and like you guys said a cutout with a hefty tip area.

What about the Greenough Stage 6? Wouldn’t that be the best of both worlds…?

There are so many good fins to try. The best part about having a fin box is all the possibilities. It could keep you busy for years and it’s like having several surfboards in one. It’s been said here many times; it’s more the surfer than the fin, with that being said, make them all work to your advantage.