wht do I need to know about getting a drill press

so I have finally bit the conceptual bullet

about chambering out the three balsa boards

I have had glued up for the past 2- five years.

looked on craigs list first for  magicly availiable stuff 

and that didn’t work.The only craigs list stuff was off island.

Then I looked at the google results and it gave me a thumbnail view

of drill press nomenclature.I still dont know enough

to make an educated decision…

but it seems the bits that I own that are called hole hogs would work best 

in the control situation of a drill press.

Do I need a powered up monster drill press ?

I don’t feel confident with a light weight tool.

any indicators?to look for amp motor size

like a planer with musscle that doesn’t

bog down under load…

…ambrose…

Although I'm a carpenter, I don't use drill presses much these days, because my work is in the field, not in a shop.  But I regularly drill through large timbers using a battery powered 18v portable hand held drill.  In a drill press, I would use forstner bits for the type of drilling that a chambered board would require, and if they're sharp, then the load on the drill would be minimal  I suspect that "hole hog" might be another name for the same.  (When using my portable drill, I still sometimes use a forstner bit, but I start the hole with a spade bit, as the forstner wants to "wander" when starting out with a hand held tool).

Please don't mis-read this - I'm not in any way, shape, or form recommending you do the job with a portable drill, only giving the example to show that a monster drill press is not required, sharp bits are the key when drilling in wood.  Even a small benchtop drill press would do the job.  However, if you foresee a heavy workload involving many more such projects, or maybe drilling holes in stainless steel or cast iron, by all means get the biggest baddest drill press you can afford.